How much car insurance do I need in South Carolina?

Under South Carolina law each car must have $25,000 in liability insurance coverage.  Liability coverage only protects other drivers from your negligence.  You cannot collect liability coverage on your car for injuries you receive.  If you own a home or have other assets you should talk with your agent and consider raising your liability limits, because if you cause injuries to someone else and do not have enough liability coverage to compensate them for their injuries, your home and other assets could be at risk.

In South Carolina, every car must also have uninsured motorist coverage in the amount of $25,000.  If an uninsured motorist hits you, you will be covered with up to $25,000 in insurance.  You should consider raising the limits of that coverage.

There is also optional coverage available to you called underinsured motorist coverage.  Everyone should have this coverage, because if someone hits you with less coverage than you need to reasonably recover for your injuries, the underinsured motor coverage (known as UIM) will come into play and help reimburse you for your injuries.

Many people believe that they cannot afford extra insurance coverage, however you will find that extra coverage, even raising your limits to $1,000,000 is very inexpensive.

If you are in an accident, the amount of coverage available to you can be a very tricky question and you need a highly trained personal injury lawyer to assist you.

If you have any questions or need a lawyer to help you, call Patrick E. Knie P.A. toll free at 1-866-665-4995.

Contact Information